CLE Requirements

MISSOURI
Continuing Legal Education requirements and restrictions for attorneys licensed in Missouri are as follows:

  • Minimum CLE credit requirement is 15 hours per year, including two hours of ethics and professionalism (1 hour = 50 minutes).
  • Maximum of six hours of self-study credit, including on-demand programs, is allowed each year.
  • Speakers may¬†credit up to 15 hours of preparation time for each 50-minute seminar for which they do not receive compensation.
  • Authors of continuing legal education publications may credit a maximum of 15 hours of research and composition for any one work.
  • Maximum of 15 hours, including 2 hours of ethics and professionalism, may be carried over from one year to the next.
  • Newly-admitted attorneys are required to complete two hours of ethics and professionalism within 12 months of admission to the Missouri Bar.

To see complete requirements as detailed in Missouri Supreme Court Rule 15, click here.

KANSAS
Continuing Legal Education requirements and restrictions for attorneys licensed in Kansas are as follows:

  • Minimum CLE requirement of 12 hours per year, including two hours of ethics and professionalism (1 hour = 50 minutes).
  • Self-study does not qualify for credit.
  • Maximum of five hours of nontraditional programming such as on-demand programs is allowed each year.
  • Speakers may credit up to 15 hours of preparation time for each 50-minute seminar for which they do no receive credit.
  • Authors of continuing legal education publications may credit research and composition time.
  • Maximum of 10 hours may be carried over from one year to the next; ethics hours may be carried over as general credit but not as ethics hours.
  • Maximum of two hours per yeat of credit may be obtained from law practice management programs.
  • Newly-admitted attorneys are exempt from CLE requirements for the first compliance period during which they were admitted to the Kansas Bar.

To see complete requirements as detailed in Kansas Supreme Court Rule 801-811, click here.

 

close

Please log in to proceed.

Username

Password