Leadership & Governance

The Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association is governed by its Board of Directors, pursuant to the Association’s Bylaws. Officers of the Association include the President, President-Elect, Vice President, Treasurer and Secretary, who each serve a one-year term beginning upon their election at the Annual Meeting in December of each year. To learn more about the current Board of Directors, click here.

Many members of the Board of Directors have risen to their positions through involvement in KCMBA’s Sections and Committees. As overseers of KCMBA’s seven practice area-specific sections, section presidents play a critical role in generating enthusiasm for Bar activities and producing relevant continuing legal education programs. Section presidents are supported in their efforts by many dedicated committee chairs, who lead their committee members in planning events and staying up-to-date on practice area developments. To meet KCMBA’s sections and committees leadership, visit the sections page.

In 2011, Vickie Schatz joined KCMBA’s professional staff as Executive Director, after a 16-year legal career in litigation and corporate law.  Vickie leads KCMBA’s staff of 14 employees and is responsible for the business operations of the Association.Click here to learn more about KCMBA’s professional staff.

Task Force M

As Dan Blegen took the presidency in 2017, he stated: “We need to make sure we are meeting the needs of a generation of lawyers so they want to be lawyers and remain in the profession. Eventually they’re going to be in charge.”  With this idea, Task Force M was created.  The goals of this appointed group were threefold. They were asked to focus on understanding and serving millennials, connecting generations and providing value on this topic to law firms and the legal community. For the last year, a committee of nine individuals worked behind the scenes as part of Task Force M, seeking to better understand how to bridge the generational gap between Baby Boomers, Generation X, and Millennials. 

Set on course by Dan and led by Athena Dickson, Perry Brandt, Karrie Clinkinbeard, Ashley Grace, Phyllis Norman, Karl Phares, Emma Schuering, Darrion Walker and Chris Wirken worked together to gather information and create recommendations for the board to find new ways of meeting the needs of our ever changing legal community.  

To view the final report, click here.