Leadership & Governance

The Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association is governed by its Board of Directors, pursuant to the Association’s Bylaws.   Officers of the Association include the President, President-Elect, Vice President, Treasurer and Secretary, who each serve a one-year term beginning upon their election at the Annual Meeting in December of each year.  To learn more about the current Board of Directors, click here.

Many members of the Board of Directors have risen to their positions through involvement in KCMBA’s Sections and Committees. As overseers of KCMBA’s seven practice area-specific sections, section presidents play a critical role in generating enthusiasm for Bar activities and producing relevant continuing legal education programs.   Section presidents are supported in their efforts by many dedicated committee chairs, who lead their committee members in planning events and staying up-to-date on practice area developments. To meet KCMBA’s sections and committees leadership, click here.

In 2011, Vickie Schatz joined KCMBA’s professional staff as Executive Director, after a 16-year legal career in litigation and corporate law.  Vickie leads KCMBA’s staff of 14 employees and is responsible for the business operations of the Association.  Click here to learn more about KCMBA’s professional staff.


Get involved with your KCMBA and be a part of KCMBA’s future!

All KCMBA members are invited to apply for open positions on the 2016 KCMBA Board of Directors and to nominate a colleague or themselves to leadership positions in KCMBA’s Sections and Committees.  Open Board positions, the nomination process and the 2015 Nominating Committee and the Section and Committee nomination process are listed below.


KCMBA 2016 Officers and Board of Directors

The Nominating Committee is now accepting applications for positions on the 2016 KCMBA Board of Directors.  Positions available for 2016 are President-Elect, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary and four (4) Members at Large.


To apply, complete the Personal Data Form and send it with a letter of intent to Vickie Schatz at vschatz@kcmba.org.

The application deadline is June 19, 2015 at 5:00 p.m.


The 2015 Nominating Committee is composed of the following:

  • Perry Brandt, 200 Main St., Ste. 3800, Kansas City, MO 64105 (Committee Chair)
  • Hon. Alok Ahuja, 1300 Oak St., Kansas City, MO 64106
  • Tom Bender, 1100 Main St., Kansas City, MO 64105
  • Dana Tippin Cutler, 21 W. Gregory Blvd., Kansas City, MO 64114
  • Russell S. Jones, 900 W. 48th Place, Ste. 900, Kansas City, MO 64112
  • Phyllis A. Norman, 1000 Broadway Blvd., 4th Fl., Kansas City, MO 64105
  • Jesse Sendejas, 1101 Locust, 1st Fl., Kansas City, MO 64106


KCMBA 2016 Section and Committee Leadership

We are now accepting applications for 2016 leadership.  Individuals are selected because of their expertise, leadership and commitment to KCMBA.


Section Leadership:  Section leadership consists of a President, President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer, and two or more Members at large elected by the respective Section members.  The President-Elect automatically succeeds to the office of President.  The current Secretary and Treasurer may be nominated and elected to an additional term or may be nominated and elected to any other office.  Each Member-at-large may be nominated and elected for successive terms.


Committee Leadership:   Committee leadership is comprised of a Chair (or Co-Chairs) and Vice Chair (or Co-Vice Chairs) and are appointed or designated by the respective incoming Section President.

If you are interested in Section or Committee leadership, or know a colleague who would be, please download the Nomination and Data form and send it to committee@kcmba.org 

The application deadline is August 1, 2015 at 5:00 p.m.



Please log in to proceed.