LEAP Mardi Gras Luncheon


25th Annual LEAP Mardi Gras Luncheon

Operation Breakthrough children performing The Itsy Bitsy Spider for the crowd

2019 LEAP King Matt Sparks and LEAP Queen Abby McClellan

Thank you to our 2019 Sponsors!

($10,000 & Over)
Davis Bethune & Jones Charitable Foundation
Robb & Robb LLC Charitable Foundation

($5,000 - $9,999)
Miller Schirger, LLC 
Polsinelli PC
Stinson Leonard Street, LLP

($2,500 - $4,999)
Baty, Holm, Numrich & Otto, PC
Boyd, Kenter, Thomas & Parrish LLC
Mary and Jack Kilroy
The Redfearn Law Firm, PC
Presley & Presley LLC
Shook, Hardy & Bacon L.L.P.
Stueve Siegel Hanson LLP

($1,000 - $2,499)
John and Ellen Aisenbrey
W.H. ‘Bert’ Bates
Suzy and Steve Block 
Dysart Taylor Cotter McMonigle & Montemore, PC
Jennifer and David Heinemann
Holman Schiavone, LLC
Susan Y. Ikazaki
Mark & Burkhead
J. Gary McEachen
Shamberg, Johnson & Bergman Foundation
Hon. Christine Sill-Rogers and Charlie Rogers
John and Mary Rebecca Turner 

($500 - $999)
Hon. Alok Ahuja and Nina Ahuja
The Backer Law Firm, LLC
Bartimus Frickleton Robertson Rader P.C.
Elizabeth ‘Liza’ Healey
Kersten L. Holzhueter
Horn Aylward & Bandy, LLC
Law Offices of Mark A. Jess, L.L.C.
Kenner Nygaard DeMarea Kendall LLC
Langdon & Emison, LLC
Richard and Debra Lombardo
Michelle and James Marvel
Vickie Mauck
Nash & Franciskato Law Firm
Noland Law Firm LLC
Norman & Graves, LLC
Patrick and Jeanne Respeliers
Hon. Ortrie D. Smith
Totta Law Offices, LLC

($250 - $499)
Sara and Brian Baltzell
Hon. Stephen R. Bough
Maureen M. Brady
Daniel R. Brown
Mitchell Burgess
Athena M. Dickson
Dollar Burns & Becker Charitable Fund
Fisher Law LLC
Kathryn O’Hara Gasper and Adam Gasper
German May PC
Blake Heath
House Law LLC

Amy Jackson
Hon. David Gregory Kays and Julie Kays
Amanda and Tyson Ketchum
James Letourneau and Norman Plate
The McCallister Law Firm, PC
Abby E. McClellan
Meyerkord, Russell & Hergott
Oswald Roam & Rew LLC
Lonnie Shalton and Rita  Leifhelm
Jamie Walker 
Samantha Wenger and Clinton Johns
Douglas and Victoria Westerhaus

($100 - $249)
Association for Women Lawyers of Greater Kansas City
Margaret A. Boyd
Brendan Connor Buckley
Jack and Marsha Campbell
Kathryn Cox
Matthew Lee Dameron
Christopher Dandurand
Jay Daugherty
Ryan T. Fry
The Gorny Law Firm, LC
Hon. Lisa White Hardwick
Amy Hatch and Ryan Fuger
Hon. Cynthia L. Martin and J.D. Martin
Roger D. Nail
Norris & Keplinger, LLC
Hon. Timothy D. O’Leary 
Mark E. Parrish
Hon. Beth Phillips

Hon. Janette K. Rodecap
Comm. Sherrill L. Rosen
Samuel and Emma Sparks
Erland and Ellen Suni
Hon. Dean Whipple and Karen Hopkins 
David W. White
Williams & Campo, PC 
Hon. Gary Dean Witt and Angie Witt
Stacey K. Wullschleger

Hon. Edward R. Ardini and Sheri Ardini
Cowing & Mendelson, P.C.
Ashlee R. Crowl
Hon. Thomas H. Newton and Renee Newton
Timothy R. West
Judith Westmoreland
Robert Travis Willingham
Hon. J. Dale Youngs

Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP
Holman Schiavone, LLC
Shook, Hardy & Bacon L.L.P.
Spencer Fane LLP
Stinson Leonard Street LLP
Stueve Siegel Hanson LLP
Wagstaff & Cartmell LLP

UMKC School of Law

Lawyers Encouraging Academic Performance (LEAP) was created in 1994 as a not for profit Foundation to further, promote and expand upon existing community service of lawyers in Greater Kansas City with a specific focus upon initiatives intended to encourage young persons in their pursuit of an education.

Through LEAP the lawyers of Kansas City have raised more than $1.8 million for the educational benefit of disadvantaged children.  LEAP's designated beneficiary is Operation Breakthrough.  Founded in 1971, Operation Breakthrough's mission is to help children who are living in poverty develop to their fullest potential by providing them a safe, loving and educational environment. The center also strives to support and empower the children's families through advocacy, referral services, and emergency aid.

Operation Breakthrough has utilized LEAP donations to fund a state of the art computer lab, well informed school counselors and before and after school enrichment programs. 
Each year, LEAP's fundraising efforts culminate at its Mardi Gras Luncheon.  

To make a donation to LEAP for the benefit of Operation Breakthrough, simply make your check payable to LEAP and mail to

c/o Boyd, Kenter, Thomas & Parrish LLC
Mark Parrish, Treasurer
221 W. Lexington Ave., Ste. 200
Independence MO 64050

For more information contact Sharra Wagner at swagner@kcmbf.org or (816) 474-4322.